ROKSO Home  |  ROKSO FAQs & Policies  |  About Spamhaus  |  FAQs
The Register of Known Spam Operations
iMedia Networks

Evidence Menu:

iMedia Networks Index

Country: United States of America
State: California
iMedia Networks is a full-fledged spam-hosting operation serving bulletproof hosting at high premiums to well known ROKSO-listed spammers. Their customers spam via botnet zombies with spam payloads hosted offshore, tunneled back to his servers. The gang here have been hijacking (stealing) IP address space from companies for years to spam from. Illegal in the USA. The company is owned or managed by a Michael Lindsay.

iMedia Networks SBL Listings History
Current SBL Listings
Archived SBL Listings

Early days (1998) Galaxy-NET spammer hosting.

From: Frontier GlobalCenter Abuse Response Team (
Subject: Re: Notice of SMTP filtering for all Galaxy-NET hosted domains.
Date: 1998/03/23

On 20 Mar 1998, GlobalCenter Abuse Response Team wrote:
> David Schmidt of Galaxy-NET just notified me that the FREESOFTWARE.NET
> site is no longer accessible, and I have verified this. The filter is now
> removed.

As you are all aware, FREESOFTWARE.NET is back up and running at
Galaxy-NET (apparently against the wishes of David Schmidt). We have put
our filter against any domains hosted by them back in place.

The following is my response to Michael Lindsay of Galaxy-NET's reply to
my original notice of filtering.

Andrew Ramsey
GlobalCenter Abuse Response Team

From Mon Mar 23 17:12:12 1998
Date: Mon, 23 Mar 1998 17:11:44 +0000 (GMT)
From: Frontier GlobalCenter Abuse Response Team <>
Reply-To: Frontier GlobalCenter Abuse Response Team <>
To: Michael Lindsay <>
Subject: Re: Notice of SMTP filtering for all Galaxy-NET hosted domains.
In-Reply-To: <>
Message-ID: <>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: TEXT/PLAIN; charset=US-ASCII

On Fri, 20 Mar 1998, Michael Lindsay wrote:

> Dear Andrew:
> We have been made aware of the lists that are contained within the
> website. This customer is skating on thin ice with us
> because they spammed one time and were warned. If they violate any of our
> AUP's then they will be dopped as a customer.
> However, there is nothing illegal about collecting and organizing email
> addresses.

But there is something illegal about stealing system resources and causing
denial of service, as junk e-mail has been proven to do. The fact that
you overlook this and the fact that your customer is aiding and abetting
these net thieves is sickening.

> Your threat to block our email is not a solution to the problem.

You're right. The ultimate solution is for you to drop these people as

> We handle around 1% of all worldwide web traffic on our servers.

Our filter did not affect this. We were only filtering SMTP traffic from
domains hosted by you.

> Why don't we start blocking all Primenet customers?

Because none of our customers are openly promoting UCE using our

> Don't you realize that the internet is a co-op?

Yes, I do, which is why we decided to implement the filter. UCE takes the
Internet's cooperative nature for granted. So much so that it is rapidly
eroding that nature.

I am not saying you are responsible for the UCE this site is helping to
generate. I _am_ saying that this site is obviously a problem for your
network, much like an open SMTP relay. If you refuse to fix this problem,
you must face the consequences of your inaction.

Like you said, the internet is a co-op, and the vast majority of the
Internet does not want to have anything to do with junk e-mailers or
providers that are junk e-mail friendly. By allowing to
continue to peddle their wares and distribute their target lists (the site
is back up as of 23 Mar 98 10:03 MST), you place yourself in the latter
category. Because of this, we have put our filter back in place.

> Why don't we all block each other and then there would be no internet.

Why don't we set up some more straw men to distract attention from the
real issue?

> Yours very truly,
> Michael Lindsay
> Galaxy-NET Telecom, Inc.
[old quoted message snipped]

I will be posting this message to to update the
folks there on your progress in ridding yourselves of

Andrew Ramsey
GlobalCenter Abuse Response Team

Related URLs

Posting of Lindsay's email

The Register of Known Spam Operations (ROKSO) collates information and evidence on entities with a history of spamming or providing spam services, and entities affiliated or otherwise connected with them, for the purpose of assisting ISP Abuse Desks and Law Enforcement Agencies.
The address of this ROKSO record is:

The above consists of information in the public domain. The Spamhaus Project makes every effort to avoid errors in information in the ROKSO database, and will correct any errors as soon as it is able to verify the correction, but accepts no responsibility or liability for any errors or omissions, or liability for any loss or damage, consequential or otherwise, incurred in reliance on the material in these pages. The Spamhaus Project makes no warranties or representations as to the accuracy of the Information in ROKSO records. The information in the ROKSO database is for information purposes only and is not intended as legal advice of any kind.

For information on contacting the ROKSO Team regarding any factual errors in this record, see the ROKSO FAQs.
© 1998-2021 The Spamhaus Project SLU. All rights reserved.
Legal  |  Privacy